Michael A. Dee is a member of BrownWinick and a past member of the firm's Management Committee. Mike is active in the firm's Litigation, Intellectual Property, Construction and Employment and Labor Law practice groups.

Mike has been involved in litigation and trial practice for almost 30 years and is in and out of court all the time. He has tried dozens of cases in state and federal court and argued numerous times before state and federal appellate courts. He represents business clients in all aspects of litigation, including claims involving contracts, intellectual property, trade secrets, construction, business dissolution, employment, fraud and various tort claims. He has been involved in lawsuits not only in Iowa, but all over the Midwest, California, Colorado, Texas, Virginia, Washington, D.C., Ohio, New York, Kentucky and New England. Mike also has been retained to conduct independent, internal company investigations involving allegations of fraud, discrimination/harassment, and violations of company policies. 

A substantial amount of Mike's time is spent on intellectual property litigation. Mike has been involved in cases involving patent infringement, trademark infringement, copyright infringement and misappropriation of trade secrets. He also has argued numerous times before the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, conducted Markman Hearings, and been involved in many preliminary injunction hearings, representing both plaintiffs and defendants.

Mike has an AV Preeminent rating from Martindale Hubbell, was named one of only 17 "Litigation Stars" in the State of Iowa by the prestigious Benchmark Litigation and was selected as a 2017 IP Star in the IP Stars from Managing Intellectual Property (MIP) magazine. Mike is a member of the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, which is an invitation-only organization with a limited number of members and was recently selected for Fellowship in the Litigation Counsel of America, which is an invitation only trial lawyer honorary society. He also has been recognized for inclusion in Super Lawyers® for business litigation, Chambers USA® for litigation and Best Lawyers® for commercial, intellectual property and patent litigation. Mike was awarded Best Lawyers® "Lawyer of the Year" in the area of intellectual property litigation.

Mike is a former federal prosecutor with the United States Department of Justice in Washington, D.C., where he prosecuted primarily bank fraud and complex white collar crime as part of the Criminal Division's Fraud Section.

Mike is a member of the Iowa State Bar Association, including the Federal Practice Committee, of which he was Chair in 2010-2012. He also is a member of the Polk County Bar Association, where he served on the Board of Directors from 2002 to 2006. He is admitted to practice in the State of Iowa and the District of Columbia, the Federal District Courts for the Southern and Northern Districts of Iowa and the District of Nebraska, the Eighth Circuit and Federal Circuit Courts of Appeals, the United States Supreme Court and the United States Court of Federal Claims. Mike was the Chair of the Greater Des Moines Partnership's Government Policy Council in 2010, and currently serves on the Board of the Mercy Foundation, which serves Mercy Hospital and its affiliated entities.

On August 12, 2019, Chief District Judge John Jarvey selected Mike to serve a three year term on the Attorney Admission Fee Fund Advisory Committee for the Southern District of Iowa.  In 2014, Mike was appointed by the Chief Judge of the Southern District of Iowa to serve on the Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Committee, which was charged with reviewing and recommending a new Magistrate Judge for the Southern District of Iowa.

Mike received a B.S., with distinction and honors, from Iowa State University in 1984 and his J.D. from the University of Iowa in 1987. Mike received the American Jurisprudence Award in 1986.

Contact Michael

Susan Broughton


Iowa State University
B.S., with distinction, with honors, 1984

University of Iowa
J.D., 1987


Pennsylvania, 1988
District of Columbia, 1990
Iowa, 1995

Intellectual Property Blog
View Intellectual Property Blog

Best Lawyers Award Badge

Best Lawyers Award Badge