2018 Iowa Election Summary and Results

Posted on Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Although there were a number of upset victories during the 2018 elections, Republicans held on to the Iowa House, Senate and governorship.  This “trifecta” government will allow the GOP to continue driving the state’s policy agenda through the 2020 legislative session.  In the governor’s race, although polling gave Democratic challenger Fred Hubbell a slight edge, incumbent Kim Reynolds won reelection, 50% to 47%.  The GOP increased its majority in the Senate by three seats, while the Democrats lost two.  Beginning in 2019, the Iowa Senate will be composed of 32 Republicans and 18 Democrats.  On the House side, Democrats successfully narrowed the GOP majority by five seats.  Fifty-four Republicans and 46 Democrats will return to the Iowa statehouse in 2019.  The GOP also scored major victories in other statewide races, with incumbent Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig and Secretary of State Paul Pate winning reelection.  The only upset was in the State Auditor’s race, with Democrat Rob Sand defeating sitting auditor Mary Mosiman.  Attorney General Tom Miller, also a Democrat, handily won reelection against a Libertarian challenger.

Meanwhile, on the federal side, Iowa’s congressional delegation switched from three Republicans and one Democrat to three Democrats and one Republican.  In the 1st Congressional District, Democrat Abby Finkenauer defeated incumbent Rep. Rod Blum by five points.  Democratic Rep. Dave Loebsack retained his seat in the 2nd Congressional District by a wide margin.  GOP Rep. David Young was unseated by Cindy Axne by a narrow, two-point margin.  Finally, Republican Rep. Steve King retained his seat against a challenge from Democrat J.D. Scholten.  It was, however, King’s narrowest victory —  three points.

FILL OUT THE FORM BELOW FOR A PDF of the 2018 Iowa Election Summary and Results.

First Name
Last Name